Virtually all finance-related questions approved by local voters

Following is a summary of April ballot measures as reported by Sam Mamet, executive director of the Colorado Municipal League:

• TABOR excess revenue retention — Mead, approved.

• Debt — Erie, $6.2 million for a police station and municipal court building; Keenesburg, $960,000 for street improvements; Lyons, $995,000 to match a FEMA community disaster loan; Pagosa Springs, $18 million for a community recreation center; Ridgway, $1.9 million for street improvements; and Wellington, $2.4 million for a town park. All approved except Pagosa Springs.

• Easing legal publication requirements — Buena Vista, Gilcrest, Ignacio, Manzanola, Palisade, Parachute, and Yampa. All approved except Buena Vista.

• Term limits — Basalt, clarify how term limits are applied; Morrison and Starkville, remove; Parachute, extend. All approved.

• Sales tax — Bayfield, 1 percent for street improvements; Deer Trail, increase the tax by $18,000 for town operations; Estes Park, 1 percent for municipal services; Keenesburg, 1 percent for town operations; La Veta, .5 percent for museum and street improvements; Montrose, .3 percent for its recreation district. All approved except Bayfield.

• Property tax — Bow Mar, 10 mills for various street improvements. Approved.

• Lodging tax — Kersey, impose one; Naturita, continue an existing one; Woodland Park, continue. All approved.

• Marijuana tax — Black Hawk, 5 percent; Dillon, 5 percent; Fruita, 5 percent; Larkspur, 5 percent; Mancos, occupation tax; Sedgwick, occupation tax; Silverton, 1 percent sales and 3 percent excise tax. All approved.

• Marijuana, whether to allow or prohibit — Antonito (allow, approved); Collbran (prohibit, approved); DeBeque (allow, approved); Fruita (allow, defeated); Larkspur (allow, defeated); Palmer Lake (allow, defeated); and Red Cliff (prohibit, defeated).

• Growth — Berthoud, allow annexation of a specific property (defeated); initiative requiring certain future annexations to be granted only through an election (approved).

Miscellaneous items

• Dear Trail, approval to shoot at drones (defeated).

• Granada, sell its municipal electric utility to Southeast Colorado Power Association (defeated).

• Hartman, reduce the town board size from 7 to 5 (defeated).

• Lochbuie, change its election date from April to November (approved).

• Montrose, broadband distribution (approved).

• Nederland and Pagosa Springs, compensation for the mayor and trustees (both approved).

• Pagosa Springs, grant of power to municipal court (approved).

• Silverton, to allow ATVs on municipal streets (approved).

In May, Lone Tree will have its regularly scheduled election and there will be a recall election plus ballot measure to repeal the town administrator ordinance in Green Mountain Falls. In June, Longmont voters will be asked to approve a $20 million bond issue for flood improvements.

CML is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization established in 1923 that represents the interests of 267 cities and towns. For more information, please visit


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply