DeGette, Perlmutter unanimously renominated at assemblies

By Anthony Bowe

Two incumbent Democratic U.S. Representatives cruised over the weekend to unanimous nominations from their home districts.

Rep. Diana DeGette, elected from the 1st Congressional District in 1996, and Rep. Ed Perlmutter, elected from the 7th Congressional District in 2006, didn’t have any primary challengers during separate assemblies May 15.

The CD 1 assembly was held at South High School in Denver where 157 delegates attended. DeGette was nominated by Dusti Gurule.

DeGette addressed the assembly, as did U.S. Senate candidate Andrew Romanoff; Stan Garnett, candidate for Attorney General; CU Regent Michael Carrigan on behalf of Melissa Hart, an at-large candidate for CU regent; and Adam Dunstone who spoke on behalf of U.S. Senator Michael Bennet.

The CD 7 assembly was held at Adams City High School in Commerce City where 233 delegates attended.

Perlmutter was nominated by Artie Guerrero, and his nomination was seconded by Brenna Isaacs, Debbie Fischer, and Steve O’Dorisio.

Perlmutter addressed the assembly, as did Romanoff, Garnett, Jane Goff, a state board of education member, and CU Regent Monisha Merchant.

DeGette’s general election opponent, Republican Mike Fallon, was nominated on May 6. Fallon, an emergency room doctor at Denver Health, has never run for public office.

Perlmutter will face one of several Republican candidates vying for the nomination and primary victory. They are: Ryan Frazier, a two-term Aurora City Councilman and military veteran; Lang Sias, a Fed-Ex pilot and former John McCain staffer; Mike Sheely, a Bennett school board member; and Michael Deming, an engineer.